Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
  • Search Brandon:
BV wrestlers secure ESD road win at Brookings
By By Jill Meier
Challenger editor

February 06. 2013 9:21AM
Four straight victories for the Lynx from the 170-pound match through 220 was more than enough success to secure a 37-28 road win over the seventh-ranked Brookings Bobcats Friday night.

“It was a nice finish to our dual season,” said Lynx head coach Kraig Presler. “The team wrestled very well top to bottom, and picking up 24 team points in the 170-220 matches was huge for us.”

Lynx senior Mason Bender got an easy win by forfeit to improve his season mark to 30-0. Senior Gabe Langner, freshman Andrew Sorensen and sophomore Brandon Burkhart all shouldered their opponents. Langner got the best of Eddie Miller, Sorensen sidelined Jake Russell and Burkhart pinned Aaron Eggebrecht.

“We also had guys wrestle well where Brooking was favored to help prevent bonus points for them,” Presler said.

Those four Lynx wrestlers weren’t the only victories recorded on the Bobcat match Friday.

Conner Rowbotham (113) won an 11-5 decision against Justin Nixon. Jackson Pletten (120) and Adam Presler (126) also scored wins by decision. Pletten outscored Jesse Kuebler 10-7 and Presler racked up a 7-3 victory against Justice Lamer.

Brandon Valley’s Connor Smith (138) scored a win by major decision (15-3) against Brookings’ Ty Johnson.

The 2012-13 season is winding down for the Lynx. This Saturday, the Brandon Valley grapplers compete for the ESD Conference title at Mitchell. Wrestling action starts at 11 a.m. The Region 1A tournament is slated for Feb. 14-15 at Sioux Falls Lincoln.

Brandon Valley 37, Brookings 28
106: Jacob Puppe (Bro) dec. Dawson Kremlacek 5-1; 113: Conner Rowbotham (BV) dec. Justin Nixon 11-5; 120: Jackson Pletten (BV) dec. Jesse Kuebler 10-7; 166: Adam Presler (BV) dec. Justice Lamer 7-3; 132: Peter Hansen (Bro) wins by forfeit; 138: Connor Smith (BV) md. Ty Johnson 15-3; 145: Nick Hanson (Bro) md. Grant Dougherty 11-0; 152: Devon Crandall (Bro) dec. Wyatt Winter 3-1; 160: Adam Palmer (Bro) p. Spencer Heidbrink; 170: Mason Bender (BV) wins by forfeit; 182: Gabe Langner (BV) p. Eddie Miller; 195: Andrew Sorensen (BV) p. Jake Russell; 220: Brandon Burkhart (BV) p. Aaron Eggebrecht; 285: Justin Behrend (Bro) p. Erik Ode.

Recent Stories