Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Friday, October 31, 2014
  • Search Brandon:
Bender claims lone ESD title
Lynx to compete at regions this week
By By Jill Meier
Challenger editor

February 19. 2013 10:00AM
Mason Bender extended his win streak to 34-0 by securing three victories en route to winning the 170-pound title at Saturday’s Eastern South Dakota Conference Tournament in Mitchell.

Lynx head coach said Bender’s title match against Pierre’s Dawson Monfore was one of the best matches of the day.

Bender opened the tournament dominating Mitchell’s Noah Taylor. He used just 1:04 in pinning his Kernel opponent. Bender followed that victory up with a 21-6 technical fall win against Yankton’s CJ Warren, which set the stage for his title bout against No. 2-ranked Monfore.

The Pierre wrestler has challenged Bender in past meetings this season, but this time, Bender had full control of the 10-2 major decision win.

Junior Adam Presler (126 pounds) and eighth grader Jackson Pletten (113) earned ESD honors by placing second in their respective weight classes.

Pletten posted a 5-0 win by decision against Mitchell’s Trey Hohn. That win put him in the championship match against Watertown’s James Suter. The more experienced Suter racked up an 11-2 major decision win.

“Jackson continues to wrestle well beyond his years, but he got in a trouble early in his finals match up with Watertown,” Coach Presler said.

Adam Presler scored a 3-1 decision against Pierre’s Aaron O’Day in his opening match. That put him in the championship against Huron’s Chet Glanzer, who squeaked out the 3-2 decision.

Conner Rowbotham (113) had a busy day on the mat. He started wit a 7-2 decision victory over Petersen Madison of Aberdeen Central, and was pinned by Huron’s Wyatt Shillingstad in the follow-up match.

Rowbotham cruised through the wrestlebacks, first posting a 5-1 decision over Yankton’s Bashir Abd-Al-Kreem, followed by an 8-5 win by decision against Justin Nixon of Brookings. That victory landed him ESD laurels in the last ESD Tournament.

Coach Presler was also impressed by the performances of Wyatt Winter (152) and Grant Dougherty (145). Both unseeded wrestlers claimed fourth place Saturday. “It is always nice to see wrestlers exceed expectations,” the coach said.

Absences in the Lynx lineup kept Brandon Valley from a fourth-place team finish.
Despite the incomplete roster, Coach Presler was still pleased with the team’s outcome.

“I was pleased we finished ahead of Yankton, Mitchell and Watertown. We felt going in we could have finished ahead of Brookings as well, but with Dylan Bludorn and Gabe Langner out of the line-up (precautionary measures with regions this week) we came up two points short of finishing fourth,” he said.

The Pierre Governors won the title, followed by Huron and Aberdeen.

The Lynx wrestlers will battle for the Region 1AA title this Thursday and Friday at Sioux Falls Lincoln High School. Wrestling action starts at 5 p.m. Thursday and 6 p.m. Friday.

“As a group, we are now making the final push to the state tournament,” Presler said.

Team points: Pierre 211.5; Huron 144; Aberdeen 134; Brookings 94; Brandon Valley 92.5; Yankton 80; Watertown 41; Mitchell 34.
Lynx individual results
106: Noah Vetter (Y) p. Dawson Kremlacek (BV) 3:56; Lawrence Tim (W) dec. Kremlacek 702.
113: Conner Rowbotham (BV) dec. Petersen Madison (AC) 7-2; Wyatt Shillingstad (H) p. Rowbotham 5:15; Wrestlebacks – Rowbotham dec. Bashir Abd-Al-Kreem (Y) 5-1; Third place match – Rowbotham dec. Justin Nixon (Br) 8-5.
120: Jackson Pletten (BV) dec. Trey Hohn (M) 5-0; Championship - James Suter (W) md. Pletten 11-2.
126: Adam Presler (BV) dec. Aaron O’Day (P) 3-1; Championship - Chet Glanzer (H) dec. Presler 3-2.
138: Mason Strahl (Y) dec. Connor Smith (BV) 6-2; Wrestlebacks – Smith p. Nick Christensen (H) 2:50; Taylor McLaughlin (W) p. Smith 2:50.
145: Mitch Johnson (AC) dec. Grant Dougherty (BV) 10-5; Wrestlebacks – Dougherty dec. Zach Smth (M) 7-4; Dougherty p. A.J. Dorschner (P) 1:57; Third place match – Matt Huber (Y) p. Dougherty 3:53.
152: Wyatt Winter (BV) dec. Alec Williams (P) 9-2; John Frisco (AC) dec. Winter 7-6; Wrestlebacks – Winter md. Casey Cox (W) 17-8; Third place match – Devon Crandall (Br) dec. Winter 6-0.
160: Seth Scott (P) p. Spencer Heidbrink (BV) 1:14; Wrestlebacks – Heidbrink dec. Ben Kummer (M) 11-5; Adam Palmer (Br) p. Heidbrink 2:05.
170: Mason Bender (BV) p. Noah Taylor (M) 1:04; Bender tf. CJ Warren (Y) 21-6; Championship – Bender md. Dawson Monfore (P) 10-2.
195: Andrew Sorensen (BV) p. Jake Russell (Br) 0:25; Dustin French (H) dec. Sorensen 4-2; Third place match – Aaron Henley (AC) dec. Sorensen 4-1.
285: Matt Halter (H) p. Erik Ode (BV) 0:40; Wrestlebacks – Ode p. Shad Hemmer (W) 0:21; Robert McCardle (M) dec. Ode 5-4.

A skilled Mason Bender (170 pounds) works to turn Mitchell's Noah Taylor in his back in the quarterfinals if Saturday's ESD Conference Tournament. Bender pinned the Kernel wrestler in 1:04. Photo by Jill Meier

Recent Stories