Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Sunday, December 21, 2014
  • Search Brandon:
S.D. Country Music Hall of Fame induction ceremony is Aug. 31
By Staff reports

August 19. 2014 11:37AM
The South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame will gather at the South Dakota State Fairgrounds in Huron on Sunday Aug. 31 for the 11th annual awards ceremony. The awards will be presented on the Dakotaland Stage at Gate 3 starting at 6 p.m.

The honored inductees are: Virginia Feekes Spoonemore from Huron, James Anthony Rose (Dennis Brown) Flandreau native, Ricky Artz, Onida native, Perk Washenberger from Aberdeen, Jack Engel from Rapid City, Edean Landmark from Watertown, Chad Peterson, Skip Johnson, Lee Schaffer (Clay Creek Deaf Cowboy Band 35th anniversary 2013) from Vermillion and Elk Point, Kenny Putnam of Rapid City, Jake and Arlene Vilhauer of Highmore, Freeman Howard (deceased) and Mary (Howard) Hamberger of Yankton, and Richard Danielson from Sioux Falls.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Wilbur and Elizabeth Foss of Scotland, who have over 180 years of musical performances to their credits.

The South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame will also debut its new logo and give updates on the progress of getting the museum at Lennox open to the public.

CD of the year will also be selected during the ceremony and Janice Gilbert, the 2013 winner, will be presented with her award. Musicians submit autographed professionally recorded CDís of which one will be selected for one of the newest awards.

The house band will be comprised of some of the prior inductees including: Roy King, Wilbur Foss, Paul Engebretson, Elaine Peacock, and special guests Sam Tulio and Whitey Boettcher helping out with drum duty and along with other musicians.

Inductees are nominated by their peers, friends, and family. They are then selected based on their musical history, promotion, and support of country music in South Dakota. Musicians and performers are selected from around the entire state.

The Board of Directors for the South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame are Sara Sandwick, Dorothy Miles, and Chair Wini Iverson. Assistants are Sandi Vander Wal, Ellen Robertson, and Mary Gorrell along with many other volunteers who help with events and preparations.

The South Country Music Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization and all work is done on a voluntary basis. The organization relies primarily on donations for its support.

The South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame also helps support music programs for elementary schools in the state of South Dakota. Support has been given in the past to elementary school music programs. Some of the youngsters have performed on stage with the SD Hall of Famers and there is a group of youngsters who will be performing on Saturday night with Elaine Peacock and friends, also on the Dakotaland Stage beginning at 6 p.m.

Recent Stories