Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Saturday, April 18, 2015
  • Search Brandon:
By From staff reports

March 05. 2013 3:36PM
Special Olympics state hoops tourney is March 8-9
Special Olympics South Dakota State Basketball Tournament will be played March 8-9 in the Yankton Summit Activities Center, 1802 Summit St., and at Yankton Middle School, 2000 Mulberry St.

Over 525 athletes are expected for this two-day event. Athletes from Brandon Valley High School are expected to compete.

The public is welcome to attend free of charge.

Splitrock Ladies League
The Splitrock Ladies bowled on Feb. 26 with the following results: High team game and series: Garretson, Ins., 892 and 2,499. High individual game: Bonnie Kramer, 190. High individual series: Bev Wassenaar, 465.

Cas Bly picked up the 6-6-10 split, Kathie Franz picked up the 6-8 split and Teresa Kramer bowled 58 pins over her average.

High school sports livestreaming sent to governor
The South Dakota House of Representative gave final approval Feb. 27 to a measure prohibiting exclusive contracts for school sports coverage. The bill passed 50-20 and is headed to Gov. Dennis Daugaard to sign.

Senate Bill 109 would prohibit exclusive contracts for sports coverage, such as a $10,000 deal between the Pierre School District and a local radio station.

Supporters say the plan would not prevent school districts from charging reasonable fees for that access, as long as each outlet pays the same price.

Fifteen to receive bowling honors
The South Dakota State USBC has announced its 2013 bowling honorees.
2013 Hall of Fame: Superior Performance - Clint Dunker, Sturgis; Dorothy Dean (posthumously), Sioux Falls; Ron Galbraith, Rapid City; Fred Kiewel, Rapid City. Meritorious Service: Carol Ellston, Sioux Falls; LeRoy DeBeer, Brookings; Robert Chamberlain, Aberdeen. Pioneer Award: Gene and Het Haviland, Rapid City. Distinguished Honorees - Family of the Year: Don and Marlys Engel Family, Huron. Proprietor of the Year: Jeff Crawford, Town & Country Lanes, Canton. Youth Awards - Coach of the Year: Jackie Klock, Sioux Falls. Star of Tomorrow: Brianna Kuckelburg, Aberdeen and Danny Sharkey, Rapid City

Hall of Fame recipients will be recognized at the annual awards program, which will be held in Pierre on July 27. Registration forms will be available soon at

Recent Stories