Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Friday, March 27, 2015
  • Search Brandon:
By From staff reports

March 13. 2013 2:06PM
Splitrock Ladies League
The Splitrock Ladies bowled on Feb. 26 with the following results: High team game and series: Garretson, Ins., 892 and 2,499. High individual game: Bonnie Kramer, 190. High individual series: Bev Wassenaar, 465.
Cas Bly picked up the 6-6-10 split, Kathie Franz picked up the 6-8 split and Teresa Kramer bowled 58 pins over her average.
The Splitrock Ladies bowled March 5 with the following results: High team game: Style On Main, 861. High team series: Alliance Communications, 2,498. High individual game: Bonnie Kramer, 200. High individual series: Marcia Bork, 506.
Bev Wassenaar picked up the 5-10 split.
Register for co-ed volleyball tourney
Brandon Valley volleyball will host a co-ed 6-on-6 volleyball tournament Sunday, April 21 at Brandon Valley High School. The tournament is a fundraiser for the BVHS volleyball program.
Cost is $90 per team, and there will be two divisions: A and B.
The deadline to register is April 16. To register, contact Paul Nagel at 366-4835 or email
Register now for Future Lynx flicker-flag football
Registrations are now being accepted for the 2013 Brandon Valley Future Lynx Flicker-Flag Football program. The program will be held on six Sunday evenings: June 9, 16 and 30, and July 7, 14 and 28 from 6 to 7 p.m. at the BVHS football practice field. Flicker-flag football is for boys entering grades 5-8. The cost is $30 per participant, and checks should be made payable to Matt Christensen. The fee also includes a Future Lynx t-shirt.
The program will be led by Matt Christensen, BVHS defensive coordinator.
For a registration form, go to To learn more, contact Matt Christensen at 582-3211 or 351-6234. Deadline to register is May 8.
Youth hoops tourney in Aberdeen
Aberdeen Family YMCA will host its 42nd annual youth basketball tournament April 5-6. The tournament is players in grades 3-9, which includes a ninth grade girls division.
To learn more, go to or contact Dan at (605) 225-4910, ext 13.
Fifteen to receive bowling honors
The South Dakota State USBC has announced its 2013 bowling honorees.
2013 Hall of Fame: Superior Performance - Clint Dunker, Sturgis; Dorothy Dean (posthumously), Sioux Falls; Ron Galbraith, Rapid City; Fred Kiewel, Rapid City. Meritorious Service: Carol Ellston, Sioux Falls; LeRoy DeBeer, Brookings; Robert Chamberlain, Aberdeen. Pioneer Award: Gene and Het Haviland, Rapid City. Distinguished Honorees - Family of the Year: Don and Marlys Engel Family, Huron. Proprietor of the Year: Jeff Crawford, Town & Country Lanes, Canton. Youth Awards - Coach of the Year: Jackie Klock, Sioux Falls. Star of Tomorrow: Brianna Kuckelburg, Aberdeen and Danny Sharkey, Rapid City
Hall of Fame recipients will be recognized at the annual awards program, which will be held in Pierre on July 27. Registration forms will be available soon at

Recent Stories