Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
  • Search Brandon:
Miss, Mr. Basketball to be named May 5
BV's Allison Koeh, Chase Marso up for honor
By From staff reports

April 23. 2013 11:23AM
Hansen Anderson Basketball will name the South Dakota prep Miss and Mr. Basketball during its annual awards luncheon at the Ramkota Convention Center in Sioux Falls on Sunday, May 5.

Thirteen senior girls and 12 senior boys were selected as finalists by a vote of South Dakota high school basketball coaches at the conclusion of the 2012-13 season.

Among the finalists are Brandon Valley Allison Koehn and Chase Marso.

Koehn, a 5-foot-9 senior, averaged 13.9 points and 6.5 rebounds per game this season.

Marso, a 6-foot-3 senior, averaged 16.8 points, 4.1 rebounds and 1.2 steals a game and shot 41 percent from the field, 34 percent on 3-pointers and 69 percent on free throws. He made 57 3-pointers, including nine against Rapid City Central in a game in which he didn’t even play the final quarter.

The 13 girls selected as finalists are Allison Koehn, Brandon Valley; Cera Ledbetter and Darby Hugunin, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Chynna Stevens, Clark/Willow Lake; Emma Hanson, Sioux Falls Washington; Erica Herrold, Parkston; Kerri Young, Mitchell; Kieran O’Malley, Centerville; Logan O’Farrell and Presley O’Farrell, Summit; Rachel Rogers, Warner; Samantha Knecht, Aberdeen Central; and Taylor Trohkimoinen, Newell.

The 12 finalists for Mr. Basketball include Adam Hofer, James Valley Christian; Brock Zeller, Elk Point-Jefferson; Bryce Koch and Cole Lange, Dell Rapids; Chase Marso, Brandon Valley; Jordan Baker, Sioux Falls Christian; Lane Severyn and Zach Hanson, Pierre T.F. Riggs; Skyler Flatten, Clark/Willow Lake; Tanner Heiser, Watertown; Tyler Howard, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; and Wyatt Krogman, White River.

The luncheon is open to the public. Tickets are $25 in advance by contacting Kari Jurrens at or $30 at the door on the day of the event. Doors will open at noon for lunch with the awards presentation beginning at about 1 p.m.

Recent Stories