Subscribe Now    eEdition Login    How to Advertise    Work for Us!    Customer Service    Contact Us - Brandon, South Dakota
Calendar of Events
Add Your Own Event!
Wednesday, April 01, 2015
  • Search Brandon:
S.D. Hall of Fame honors 10 this year
Recognized for doing great things for state
By By Mark Walker
Argus Leader Media

September 16. 2013 7:31AM
The South Dakota Hall of Fame add ed10 names to its books Saturday in Oacoma.
The biggest undoubtably is Bill Janklow, the former governor and congressman who died last year. He’s joined by Miles Beacom, who started First Premier’s credit card division, and, among others, Shirley Halleen.

“I feel surprised, excited and humbled,” Halleen said. “All of those things. It’s very nice to be honored.”

Halleen has been a politician at times but is better known for her work with any number of service organizations. She said she plans to dedicate her induction to the women of the past, present and future.

The South Dakota Hall of Fame board of directors chose from among 86 nominees in its 36th year. The organization recognizes those who have contributed to a culture of excellence in South Dakota in the categories of professionalism, arts and entertainment, historical, sports and general.

Keileen Absher, director of operations, said as many as 16 people can be honored each year.

“They’re looking for someone who has done something great for the state of South Dakota and for the community in which they live,” she said. The Hall of Fame was established in 1974 and has inducted 677 honorees.

South Dakota Hall of Fame 2013 inductees

Bill Janklow, general, Sioux Falls

Miles Beacom, professional, Sioux Falls

Ruth Brennan, arts and entertainment, Rapid City

Bernard Christenson, professional, Pierre

Shirley Halleen, general, Sioux Falls

Dr. Dennis Knutson, professional, Sioux Falls

Pat Lebrun, general, Rapid City

Thomas Lillibridge, professional, Bonesteel

Jerry Schoener, general, Rapid City

Charles Trimble, historical, Wanblee

Recent Stories